The Werewolf Café The Werewolf Café

You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-21 19:30:40

SilentHope

Further books of study regarding shapeshifting?

Don't know if this is the appropriate forum (Newbie here-Sorry!) But can anyone here recommend further informative reading on shapeshifting (astral, mental, etc, etc). I have in my possesion Rosalyn Green's the magick of shapeshifting, which I thoroughly enjoyed though she did get a little repetitive. Im kinda looking for something along simular lines but possibly with more information or different views etc.
Thanks for your time and input!

#2 2008-06-21 23:35:53

bloodlust
werewolf guardian
Website

Re: Further books of study regarding shapeshifting?

The Werewolf Book:the encyclopedia of shapeshifting beings,by brad steiger

"Greater love hath no man than to lay down his life for a friend."
http://s1.bitefight.org/c.php?uid=152377

#3 2008-06-22 01:37:40

WolfVanZandt
Website

Most Werewolves I know adhor the Green book. it's granola.

Fact is, there isn't a lot of good, responsible material out on Werewolves because the literature either consists of historical accounts of people who were not Werewolves at all (the later Middle Ages saw a lot of poor, mentally deranged people who thought that they were Werewolves) or New Age fluffiness. Steiger's book was of the former cast - Green's the later.

The best popularist book I've found is Adam Douglas' The Beast Within. On the other hand, if you really want to study the topic, find yourself a research library and read everything you can get your hands on. For instance, there's a book called "From Scythia to Camelot" that never once mentions Werewolves but is full of information about them. Then there are scholarly offerings such as Harry Senn's "Werewolves and Vampires in Romania".

As for how-to manuals, I don't know of any I'd recommend. Perhaps your best bet, since you want a variety of viewpoints, would be The Werelist.

#4 2008-06-22 09:29:12

SilentHope